

MEDIA RELEASE – FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

REGIONAL COUNCIL

4 April 2024

Franz Josef Joint Committee Appointments

Changes to the Franz Josef Joint Committee Agreement were approved by the West Coast Regional Council and the Westland District Council at separate meetings on Thursday 28 March 2024.

"During engagement with the community the Franz Josef Southside Group we were informed that they would like to have four representatives on the Joint Committee", says Darryl Lew West Coast Regional Council Chief Executive Officer. "The result is that the Joint Agreement has been amended to include eight community representatives, four from the North side and four from the South side of the Waiho River."

"It's great that the Committee now has a full membership, including community representation. This will allow the Regional Council to have the best information for their decision-making."

"The Joint Committee would like to congratulate Dale Straight, Graham Berry, Jeremy Williams, Kelley Molloy, and for the South side and Ian Hartshorne, Grant Gibb, Logan Skinner, Kim Smith, and for the North side on their appointment to the committee", says Chair Councillor Campbell. "They will bring a great depth of knowledge and understanding of the community to the Committee and assist in ensuring the decisions made are of optimum benefit."

Other minor administrative changes were made to the Joint Agreement during the meetings, including increasing the quorum, allowing a delegate from each Council to be appointed to attend in place of elected members where necessary, and updating the terminology of flood defence assets for accuracy. West Coast Regional Councillor Brett Cummings was also appointed to the Committee as Westland Constituency representative.

Note: The Joint Committee is an advisory committee to the West Coast Regional Council who ultimately have the responsibility for making the final decisions on the flood protection assets on the Waiho River. It is composed of representatives from the two Councils, Te Runanga o Makaawhio, Waka Kotahi/NZ Transport Agency, and Department of Conservation and community members, and is appointed to manage the maintenance of the Franz Josef/Waiau floodwalls.

The membership of the committee is:

- Councillor Campbell, West Coast Regional Council Westland Constituency (Chair of the Joint Committee)
- Councillor Haddock, West Coast Regional Council Westland Constituency
- Brett Cummings, West Coast Regional Council Grey Constituency, appointed as third WCRC member
- Mayor Helen Lash (Deputy Chair of the Joint Committee)
- Deputy Mayor Cassin, Westland District Council
- Councillor Manera, Westland District Council
- Paul Madgwick, Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio
- Mark Davies, Department of Conservation
- James Caygill, New Zealand Transport Agency
- Dale Straight, South side community representative
- Graham Berry, South side community representative
- Jeremy Williams, South side community representative
- Kelley Molloy, South side community representative
- Ian Hartshorne, North side community representative
- Grant Gibb, North side community representative
- Logan Skinner, North side community representative
- Kim Smith, North side community representative

ENDS

Media contacts

Darryl Lew | Chief Executive | West Coast Regional Council | 027 217 9306

Emma Rae Strategy and Communications Advisor, Westland District Council, emma.rae@westlanddc.govt.nz